Why Obtain a Work Permit For My Child?
Effective February 13, 2013

A work permit will allow your child (age 14 and up) to work in the state of Pennsylvania.

On October 24, 2012, Governor Tom Corbett signed into law Act 151 of 2012 resulting in sweeping changes to Pennsylvania’s existing Child Labor Law. The Act took effect on January 22, 2013.

Under the new Child Labor Law, there will only be one work permit rather than three. The new work permit (blue) will apply to all students age 14 and up and can be used for more than one employer. The student must hold the permit until they are 18 and graduated, whichever comes last. The permit will certify that the holder personally appeared before the issuing officer or his representatives, that all papers required by law have been examined and approved, and that all requirements for issuance have been fulfilled. The work permit must be signed by the holder in the presence of the issuing officer or his representatives. Minors who can demonstrate official proof of high school graduation do not have to appear before the issuing officer or his representatives. The issuing officer or his representatives cannot issue a work permit until they have examined and verified the following papers which verify age: an official document of the commonwealth or if not an official Commonwealth document, an attested transcript of a birth certificate, a certified baptismal certificate, a passport, a certified documentary record, or the signed statement of a physician stating that after examination they believe the minor to be of proper age. The birth certificate is the preferred evidence of birth which shows the city and state of birth.

Information for Obtaining a Work Permit

This permit is required for part-time, summer or full-time work.

1. To begin the process of applying for a work permit, the parent/guardian or the applicant must personally bring the applicant’s birth certificate or other official document (see above) to the middle school main office for 7th and 8th graders or High School main office for 9th -12th graders.

 

2. After legal proof of age has been verified and recorded, the parent/guardian or applicant will be given a white work permit application. The parent/guardian must sign the application. The application must be returned to the middle school main office by the applicant to have the work permit issued and the work permit must be signed by the holder in the presence of the issuing officer or his representatives. Completion by the employer and a physical by the doctor are no longer required.

 

3. The holder will take the permit to the employer, have them photocopy it for their records and retain the original in their possession so that it can be photocopied by a new employer should the need arise. The holder must keep the work permit until they are 18 and graduated, whichever comes last.

 

4. Applicants whose employers are located in a state other than Pennsylvania should apply for a work permit from the school district in which the employer is located. Example: Working at Ocean City, Maryland, for the summer.

Hours of Employment – Ages 14 and 15

Maximum 4 hours on school days

Maximum 18 hours per school week (Mon-Fri)

Maximum 8 hours on non-school days (Saturday and/or Sunday

Summer Vacation

Maximum 8 hours per day

Maximum 44 hours per week

During the school term a student 14 or 15 years old may not work after 7:00 PM or before 7:00 AM

Exception – During summer vacation the student may work until 10:00 PM but not before 7:00 AM

Hours of Employment – Ages 16 and 17

Maximum 8 hours on any given day

Maximum 28 hours per school week (Mon-Fri) plus an additional 8 hours on Saturday and an additional 8 hours on Sunday

Maximum 44 hours per week

Summer Vacation

Maximum 8 hours per day

Maximum 44 hours per week

During the school term a student 16 or 17 years old may not work after midnight Sunday thru Thursday or before 6:00 AM any day

Exception – Student may work until 1:00 AM when a non-school day is preceding

Prohibited Occupations for Minors Under 16

Minors under 16 years old may not be employed by or in connection with any establishment where alcoholic beverages are served, dispensed, manufactured, etc. At 16 minors may be employed as waitresses, waiters or busboys/girls.

Minors under 16 years old may not be employed by or in connection with any establishment where any manufacturing or mechanical process is being done.

There are various other occupations that are prohibited for minors under age 18 and various other occupations prohibited for minors under 16.

A work permit cannot be issued to students under the age of 14.

For more information, contact the Middle School main office at 244-4021, Ext. 2500

CLOSE