Board of School Directors

Board of School Directors

Our 2017-18 Student Representative is Gabriella Ream.  

The Dallastown Area Board of School Directors is comprised of nine directors representing their voting regions. Dallastown Area School District is divided into three regions: 

  • Region I = York Township Wards 3, 4, and 5 (Hartman/Pantano/Trout)
  • Region II = Yoe Borough and York Township Wards 1 and 2 (Heistand/Hostler/Wingard)
  •  Region III = Dallastown, Jacobus and Loganville boroughs and Springfield Township (Bentzel/Blevins/Lytle)

Three directors are elected from each region serving four-year terms each. School board elections are held in alternate years (2015, 2017, 2019 etc.) or new members can be selected after a board member's resignation/vacancy. The list below includes the directors that were seated at the December 5, 2019, Reorganization Meeting.

Mr. John E. Hartman Board Vice President 1 Dec. 2013 Dec. 2021 717-741-3918
Mr. Anthony J. Pantano Board Member 1 Dec. 2017 Dec. 2021 717-495-3442
Mrs. Hilary S. Trout Board Member 1 Dec. 2014 Dec. 2023 717-747-0668   
Mrs. Sue A. Heistand Board Member 2 Dec. 2011 Dec. 2023 717-747-0241
Mrs. Sarah B. Hostler Board Member 2 Dec. 2019 Dec. 2023 717-309-2560
Mr. Scott A. Wingard Board Member 2 Oct. 2019 Dec. 2021 717-755-2702
Mr. Steven C. Bentzel Board Member 3 Nov. 2012 Dec. 2021 717-428-3764
Mr. Ronald J. Blevins Board President 3 Feb. 2011 Dec. 2023 717-235-7554
Mr. William A. Lytle Board Member 3 Dec. 2011 Dec. 2023 717-577-7686

When emailing the entire board, the President, or his/her designee, will respond on behalf of the board. Emails to individual board members are welcome; however, those responses cannot be representative of the entire board. For an understanding of the board members' authority, roles and limits, access the link that follows for the district's Policy Manual and policies specifically related to Local Board Procedures, Section 000:

The Dallastown Area Board of School Directors also welcomes you to its meetings. All meetings are open to the public so that citizens may observe business and formal actions of the board. We encourage comments and opinions during designated times on the board meeting agenda. Community participation will allow the district to maintain exceptional education programs for the students of the district.

Meetings are typically held the second and third Thursday of each month at 7:30 p.m. in the high school Theater Room. Meeting dates are noted on the district calendar, which can be accessed from the Home Page of our website. Board audio recordings are posted on the School Board tab of our Website within a few business days of the meeting. Board meeting minutes are posted after the next month's meeting at which they were approved.

Closed Executive Sessions may be held to discuss employment issues, labor relations, the purchase or sale of real estate, potential litigation or identifiable complaints which may lead to litigation, matters which must be conducted in private to protect a lawful privilege or confidentiality, or to discuss, plan or review matters and records that are deemed necessary for emergency preparedness, protection of public safety and security of all property in a manner that, if disclosed, would be reasonably likely to jeopardize or threaten public safety or preparedness or public protection.


Website by SchoolMessenger Presence. © 2020 Intrado Corporation. All rights reserved.