School Board

The Dallastown Area Board of School Directors is comprised of nine directors representing their voting regions.
Dallastown Area School District is divided into three regions: 

  • Region I: York Township Wards 3, 4, 5 (Kopelic/Pantano/Trout) 
  • Region II: Yoe Borough and York Township Wards 1 and 2 (Heistand/Hostler/Wingard)
  • Region III: Dallastown, Jacobus, and Loganville boroughs and Springfield Township (Bentzel/Blevins/Lytle)

Three directors are elected from each region serving four-year teams each. School Board elections are held in alternate years (2019, 2021, 2023, etc.) or new members can be selected after a board member's resignation/vacancy. The list below includes the directors that were seated at the December 9, 2021, Organization Meeting. 

Steven Kopelic Mr. Steven A. Kopelic
Board Member
1 Nov. 2020 Dec. 2025 717-793-2074 [email protected]
 Mr. Tony Pantano Mr. Anthony J. Pantano
Board Member
1 Dec. 2017 Dec. 2025 717-495-3442 [email protected]
 Mrs. Hilary Trout Mrs. Hilary S. Trout
Board Member
1 Dec. 2014 Dec. 2023 717-747-0668 [email protected]
 Mrs. Sue Heistand Mrs. Sue A. Heistand
Board Member
2 Dec. 2011 Dec. 2023 717-747-0241 [email protected]
 Mrs. Sarah Hostler Mrs. Sarah B. Hostler
Board President
2 Dec. 2019 Dec. 2023 717-309-2560 [email protected]
 Scott Wingard headshot Mr. Scott A. Wingard
Board Member
2 Oct. 2019 Dec. 2025 717-755-2702 [email protected]
 Mr. Steve Bentzel Mr. Steven C. Bentzel
Board Member
3 Nov. 2012 Dec. 2025 717-244-4021* [email protected]
 Mr. Ron Blevins Mr. Ronald J. Blevins
Board Member
3 Feb. 2011 Dec. 2023 717-235-7554 [email protected]
 Mr. Bill Lytle Mr. William A. Lytle
Board Vice President
3 Dec. 2011 Dec. 2023 717-577-7686 [email protected]
 kayla sebastian Ms. Kayla Sebastian
Student Representative

                                      *Please ask for the Board Secretary who will share your message with Mr. Bentzel.

When emailing the entire board, the President or his/her designee, will respond on behalf of the Board. Emails to individual board members are welcome, however those responses cannot be representative of the entire Board. For an understanding of the board members' authority, roles and limits, please review the District's Policy Manual and policies specifically related to Local Board Procedures, Section 000

The Dallastown Area Board of School Directors welcomes you to its meetings. All meetings are open to the public so that citizens may observe business and formal actions of the Board. We encourage comments and opinions during designated times on the board meeting agenda. Community participation will allow the District to maintain exceptional education programs for the students of the District. 

Meetings are typically held the second and third Thursday of each month at 7:30 p.m. in the High School Large Group Instruction Room. Meeting dates are noted on the District calendar. Board meeting audio recordings are posted on the website within a few business days of the meeting. Board meeting minutes are posted after the next month's meeting at which they were approved. 

Closed Executive Sessions may be held to discuss employment issue, labor relations, the purchase or sale of real estate, potential litigation or identifiable complaints which may lead to litigation, and matters which must be conducted in private to protect a lawful privilege or confidentiality, or to discuss, plan or review matters and records that are deemed necessary for emergency preparedness, protection of public safety and security of all property in the manner, that if disclosed, would be reasonably likely to jeopardize or threaten public safety or preparedness or public protection.

Website by SchoolMessenger Presence. © 2023 Intrado Corporation. All rights reserved.